On 7 May 1945, two German officers, Admiral Hans von Friedeburg and General Alfred Jodl, surrendered unconditionally to Lieutenant-General Walter Bedell Smith, the Chief-of-Staff for the Supreme Allied Commander, American General Dwight D. Eisenhower. The following day, 8 May, Marshal Zhukov, commander of the Soviet armies on the Eastern Front, and General Tedder, Deputy Commander of the Allied Forces in the West, ratified the surrender. The surrender was effective at midnight on 8 May 1945.


Copyright © 2018 The Loyal Edmonton Regiment Museum
Prince of Wales Armouries Heritage Centre
10440 - 108 Ave, Edmonton